New kitty in the family!

So it’s been a while since I’ve posted. That’s because my 16 year old cat Midori had been rapidly declining in health over the last couple months, and we finally had to put her down a couple of weeks ago. Obviously I was heartbroken, and I’ll miss her a lot.

On the bright side, I now have a brand new kitty baby! Her name is Ripley, and she’s a 10 wk old tortoiseshell kitten. I picked her out from about a dozen kittens at the SPCA and brought her home last Wednesday. Of course I’ve been snapping photos like crazy. 🙂

ripley_bed

You can see her beautiful tortie coloration really well here:

ripley_color

She’s a brave little soul. She’s not even afraid of the dog!

ripley_chester

Her face is so kissable…but you have to steal the kisses quick! She doesn’t stay still for long.

ripley_face

And in tribute, here’s a pic of my old lady Midori. I’ll love you forever, sweet baby. ❤

midori_tribute

—-

4 responses to “New kitty in the family!

  1. So sorry about your special Midori. Anyone who’s had a beloved pet knows how devastating it is to lose one. I have 2 dogs, only 5 and almost 7, and I dread the day they leave me, their lives are far too short. Congrats on the new kitty! 🙂 May you have many, many years of happiness with her.

  2. I empathize – we had to take our elderly ailing kitty to the vet in July and it was absolutely heart-breaking. Last month a young stray cat adopted us, and after spending weeks looking for its former owners we now have a new kitty. Such a change in the house! Old cats are rather nappish after all, while this one zings and zooms all over the place. My dog isn’t quite sure what to make of all of it. I’ll have to do a dogs & cats living together post one of these days! 🙂

Leave a Reply

